googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

Provider Focus: Abigail Coale, Licensed Massage Therapist


discount massage Maryland

One of the greatest ways to not only treat yourself to a relaxing moment of self care but to take care of your prenatal and postpartum muscles and joints is a massage. Unfortunately, it's not always the most accessible or available in the busy life of a new parent!

I couldn't be more excited to bring our relationship with Abigail Coale, LMT, to the Maryland State Doulas population. A trained and knowledgable massage therapist, Abigail is also soothing in both persona and practice. Best of all? Her skills in soothing the pregnancy and postpartum complaints with her craft can be accessed in YOUR HOME!

Having experienced the luxury of an in-home massage, I can say it's something you won't want to miss. And with as accessible as Abigail is to the area it's an opportunity not to pass up! Here's a little bit more about our colleague, Abigail Coale, and her wonderful practice, which you can learn more about here:

What led you to massage?

When I was younger, I so badly wanted to find a singular career path for myself. I thought I’d found it when I began pursuing a film degree. Quickly I realized that the conventional film world wasn’t for me. I was just receiving a massage one day when I thought, “I could do this.” While finishing my film degree and starting my massage program, I finally started to embrace having many talents! I call them my “back pocket skills.” It has been most important to me to have a skill set that is transportable, considering my love of travel.

Why is massage so important for self care?

People often associate massage with luxury and pampering. While this is one of the top benefits of massage, it can also be truly therapeutic, just like chiropractic care or physical therapy. Massage helps connect your body and mind, whether it’s pure relaxation or something (physically and mentally) deeper. Massage can also help relieve aches and pains, reset the resting length of muscles, break up adhesions and scar tissue, and boost your immune system.

I can say first hand that having someone come to your home for a massage is fabulous! What do you enjoy about in-home massage?

Client comfort is always top priority, and allowing them to be in their own environment certainly adds to their comfort level. Plus, they don’t have to “get ready” or drive to and from another location. I show up, set up, give them a massage, and then I pack up, and roll out! And immediately, they can get back to their day.

What is your service area?

I am based in Annapolis, with Annapolis, Edgewater, and Arnold being my main hub. I also serve Severna Park, Mayo, Eastport, Riva, and Stevensville for no extra charge. For areas more than 10 miles outside of 21409 there may be a small travel fee.

What special training did you undertake for your profession?

With my particular credentials (LMT, licensed massage therapist), I had 500 classroom hours in massage, as well as 60 additional college credits. I then passed both a national exam and MD state exam. During my program, we learned Swedish, deep tissue, myofascial, sports, prenatal, reflexology, aromatherapy, and hot stone, in addition to other types of massage. With continuing education credits (or CEUs) I’ll be able to expand my knowledge on these modalities, and more!

What type of massage do you work on with most clients?

My style is very integrative. Unlike the big chains or spas, I don’t charge separately for Swedish and deep tissue. Between the intake interview and bodywork, I will completely customize a regiment for each client. Most commonly I use Swedish, deep tissue, and myofascial techniques. I’m also currently specializing in prenatal massage!

What are the benefits of having a massage during pregnancy?

While I’ll dive deeper into this topic in another blog post, the biggest prenatal massage perk is simply relaxation. The time you’re taking for yourself to lie down and relax makes for a happy mama and a happy baby!

Abigail Coale, a lifelong Annapolitan, is a licensed massage therapist and wedding & birth videographer (of Abidoodle Productions). She is currently booking in-home sessions, specializing in prenatal massage, as well as neck/shoulder/rotator cuff issues, with an emphasis on both Swedish and deep tissue massage. When she isn’t facilitating body wellness or capturing milestones, she enjoys writing, crafting, and traveling.

bottom of page