googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

“Where’s My Pregnancy Glow?” - And Other Maternity Grievances


Let’s face it - we all secretly wish we looked like the Chrissy Teigens in the world when we trade in our non-pregnant bodies for maternal figures. Who wouldn’t?? Every time a celebrity steps out with a baby bump as her newest fashion accessory, we hear the same things shouted at her by the paparazzi.

“You’re glowing!”

“Your hair looks so full and flowing!”

“She carries that bump so well!”

These were my expectations, well, not just my first pregnancy, but every time. I want that glowing, supple skin. I want hair that looks like three sets of extensions were added to it for thickness. I want my bump to complement my feminine figure.

Imagine my disappointment when each and every time I advance into stages of pregnancy, I am instead left with other physical attributes from those I see on Entertainment Tonight.

Instead of built in highlighter on my cheekbones, I have patchy, red blotches from unbalanced hormones. My hair, I admit, was quite thick with baby #1, but seems to have given up completely the third go around. Don’t even get me started on how much I hope the pregnancy waddle will become this year’s “whip (nae nae)”…

Everyone experiences pregnancy differently.

I think it does a great disservice to women when we tell each and everyone they will expect their pregnancy to look and treat them a certain way. It simply isn’t so. Instead of visualizing pregnancy as a cookie cutter maternity photo shoot, I celebrate and embrace the individuality that each woman carries her pregnancy with. There is no one size fits all for pregnancy beauty, and all are wondrous for the life force they represent growing inside of each mother to be.

What can you expect? It’s hard to say since everyone is so different. Some do see hormonal changes bring early pregnancy and/or late term breakouts, redness or rosacea. Others may notice a slight discoloring from the jawline up towards the cheekbones, called a ‘mask of pregnancy’, that leaves after delivery. Supple skin and the ‘glow’ is usually due to increased blood flow and retained fluids during pregnancy. The slower shedding of hair follicles during pregnancy may leave some women with fuller looking hair, while others may not see a change at all.

No matter what, it’s only temporary. Pregnancy is a season of life like all others where we navigate changes with our bodies.

While I am miffed about not having the ‘glow’, I can’t say I’m not loving my pregnant shape. It is sometimes foreign feeling and many times I have to laugh at myself and take it all in stride, but when I step in front of the camera to document this pregnancy, I’m hoping that I can see the beauty in what my body is creating. The larger bra cup sizes don’t hurt, either!

So when I sit down with my clients, or with a class of childbirth students, I am happy to hear you vent about the parts of pregnancy you were promised that haven’t rung true! I also love to hear you learn to embrace those parts of pregnancy that you are truly enjoying about your new shape. And those with the pregnancy glow? You’re radiant, and lucky, lucky ladies! We celebrate you all during this exciting time in your lives.

If you're looking for someone to help you understand the physical and emotional changes your body is undergoing during pregnancy, our doulas and concierge support are here for you! We've been there - let us help you enjoy and understand what you may encounter throughout your pregnancy milestones!

bottom of page