googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

Reasons to Thank My IBCLC


breastfeeding support lactation Maryland

Today is IBCLC (international board certified lactation consultant) Day and in the spirit of gratefulness for all that these amazingly supportive professionals do, I thought I’d reflect on the things I personally need to thank my IBCLC, Kim Knight, for.

I became a nursing Mom in 2012 when my son was born. I knew I wanted to breastfeed, but I didn’t prepare. I thought I did. I read “What to Expect When You’re Expecting”, and with no fault of that text, felt pretty set and that it was going to be a breeze.

My son was a great nurser. I am so incredibly lucky to be able to say this, seeing as a birth professional and knowing countless friends who have not had that experience. But he wanted to nurse ALL THE TIME. He was also a ‘nip and napper’; a baby that falls asleep after an incredibly long nursing session at the breast, just to wake up in protest and begin again when you attempt to remove them.

I was exhausted by the time we were discharged from the hospital, and while the nurses smiled and encouraged, no one said the things I needed to hear or gave me the support I needed. Our pediatrician, seeing how tired we were, had encouraged us to supplement so we could get some sleep. This would have been a solution for me personally if my son was losing weight - he wasn’t. He was absolutely THRIVING at the breast. I was scared. Was this going to last forever? Was I just a milking cow? Would he ALWAYS nurse like this?

I had so many questions and felt like I didn’t have anywhere to gain them. Our hospital, as many do, had a breastfeeding support group biweekly, and while I hadn’t been out of the house showered and dressed by 9 a.m. in three weeks, my husband insisted I go. He went with me, god bless him; right into a conference room full of newly, and not so newly, postpartum moms all comfortable nursing their little ones.

Kim radiates gentle, patient knowledge and kindness. She took the time to answer all questions in a row, and finally fell to us at the end of the line. I immediately burst into tears. Kim came over and gave me a hug, a tissue, a firm grip on my hand and said a few things I really needed to hear:

“It’s ok that it’s hard.

I understand how you feel.

You’re an amazing mom.

Your baby is happy and well fed.”

I said thank you, countless times. I’m sure she hears this a lot, but part of the knowledge base that brought me to owning and operating Maryland State Doulas came from the empowerment her support brought me.

Thank you for validating my fears and frustrations.

IBCLCs have the power to change a situation and outlook completely for women who are thrust into a brand new role of life. No one can truly prepare for what a breastfeeding relationship will look like.

Thank you for being accessible.

One of my biggest isolations after leaving the hospital as a new mom was feeling like I had no immediate access to resources. Many IBCLCs allow you to call them, attend support groups they run, and get real time help.

Thank you for teaching me.

Even as a second time Mom, I scheduled a visit with my IBCLC. I knew everything was going well a few days into nursing, but needed that encouragement. Even after nursing another child and having a new baby, Kim was still able to teach me a few positioning tips to help make my experience more enjoyable. She never assumed I knew what I was doing or was a seasoned nursing expert. There in truth is no such thing!

Many times, I’m asked at a prenatal consult whether contacting a lactation consultant is a good idea after having a baby. I always heartily reply “YES!”. The resources we have access to here in Maryland are amazing, and can provide tremendous support to families after they begin their feeding relationship.

There are many superb lactation consultants in the Maryland State area. While this is not a complete list, this list includes vetted and trusted IBCLCs we have referred to clients or worked with personally. For more information about support groups, La Leche Leagues, and what a lactation consultation does, don’t hesitate to contact us!

bottom of page