googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

Failing at Motherhood?


overnight newborn care maryland, night nanny D.C., overnight newborn care Howard County, night nanny Howard County, Silver Spring night newborn care, night nurse D.C., overnight nurse annapolis, baltimore night nanny, baltimore newborn care, baltimore night nanny, Holy Cross newborn care, doula D.C., labor support D.C., doula Annapolis, labor support Annapolis, labor support Silver Spring, doula Silver Spring, Holy Cross doula, Shady Grove doula, Montgomery county doula, Bethesda doula, Rockville Doula, Walter Reed doula, military doula, Baltimore Doula, johns hopkins doula, mercy hospital doula, sibley doula, GW hospital doula, GW midwives doula, VHC Doula, Washington Hospital Center doula, northwest D.C. doula, labor support D.C.

"Seriously failing at this mom/wife/school/life balance. When people say, I don’t know how you do it, I want to say I’m not doing it. My craft room looks like I’m a hoarder, I skipped the gym to let my 3-year-old breastfeed while he watched YouTube on my phone, I haven’t bought a thing for his birthday party for Sunday. Chris is driving kids everywhere, so I can go to graduate school, my carpet smells like feet, farts and dogs. There is marker or crayon on most of my walls and I desperately need new family room furniture because there are only so many times you can wash pee out of fabric. I haven’t seen a field hockey game and I’m that mom that has asked for rides for her kid so much that people just assume they need to drive her home. But I am killing it at whole 30."

This was my Facebook status this am.

It was 10am and I was already sobbing. Some days just suck. I wish I could tell you that my day got better, but it didn’t.

Even tonight, I am getting texts from my son saying, “Daddy is being mean.”

And texts from my husband telling me that my 7-year-old son is sick.

I came home to mass chaos and a kid with a fever of 102.7 and no chewable Tylenol in sight.

So here I am failing again as a mother.

As I stood there going through the mail, there was a sweet card from my friend thanking me for being her friend. I also had a three-year-old that wanted nothing but my undivided attention. I had a nice warm bowl of homemade chicken soup with my husband, Hey, I had my stuff together enough to make dinner before I went to school. (Whole 30 approved, nonetheless, but that’s for another post.).

As I opened up Facebook, I see about 100 posts on my status update. Every other mom feels the same way I do. We all think we are failing as moms. How is this possible? We keep humans alive every day and we think we suck.

Today, my kids felt loved, they had 3 meals (and probably way too many snacks), a roof over their head and a warm bed to sleep in.

So, for today, I will take that as a win. Not every day can be filled with rainbows and unicorns.

bottom of page