googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

Birth Photography: Is It Right for You? A Three Part Series


rebozo during birth, professional birth photography Maryland, hip squeezes with doula support Maryland

Photo courtesy of Robertson & co. Photography 2018 www.RobertsonCoPhoto.com

Birth Photography has been creating a lot of buzz lately but did you know it’s actually been around for a number of years?

It was almost a decade ago when I was preparing to give birth to my second child. Another Photographer friend of mine (B. Billick Photography of Kentucky) mentioned the possibility of photographing my daughter’s arrival. I had never heard of the concept before but I knew I was in, always willing to try something new in the name of art.

The concept was fresh to both of us and with her living 6 hours away we weren’t quite sure how to iron out the logistics (my husband was in the Army at the time, deployed through the pregnancy, and we were nowhere near family or friends). I adored my OBGYN at the time and had no qualms bringing it up to him: “Would there be any issue with my friend coming in to photograph the birth?”

It was almost an instant, “Sure.” Then, “Wait...is this a friend you want in the room who will happen to take photos? Or are you actually hiring a Photographer? This definitely isn’t the time for that - you aren’t going to want to document what is going on down there.”

Oh.

Looking back, it’s certainly not as though I think his reaction is odd or inappropriate; I know many people have the same initial thought. Having said that, do I regret not going through with it? 110%

How I birthed my three children is another story for another time (hint: I would do it differently) and what I wouldn’t do to have that moment documented when my daughter and I saw one another for the first time. The expression of joy on my husbands face. How we smiled at one another when it was confirmed that everyone was healthy.

birth photography Maryland, newborn support Maryland, birth support Maryland, labor doula Maryland

Photo courtesy of Robertson & co. Photography 2018 www.RobertsonCoPhoto.com

Just like the birthing process is so much more than pushing, Birth Photography is much more than the initial thought of medical styled pictures being published for the world to see. In this series of posts, we’ll talk though the thought process, appeal, and myths of Birth Photography. Maybe you are simply curious, maybe your spouse isn’t on board just yet, or maybe your a health provider who would like to learn more. No matter who you are, I hope this topic is both informative and thought provoking.

We are fortunate enough to have Teresa on hand as an addition to your birth support. Find out more about how to enhance your memories with a birth photography package.

Teresa Robertson is an accomplished photographer and owner of Robertson & Co. Photography. Teresa holds a degree in Photography from the Savannah College of Art and Design, is a Certified Professional Photographer of the Professional Photographers of America and has been an active Volunteer for Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep since 2015.

Comentários


bottom of page