googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

Engorgement, AKA "Whose Breasts Are These & Where Did They Come From?"


overnight newborn care maryland, night nanny D.C., overnight newborn care Howard County, night nanny Howard County, Silver Spring night newborn care, night nurse D.C., overnight nurse annapolis, baltimore night nanny, baltimore newborn care, baltimore night nanny, Holy Cross newborn care, doula D.C., labor support D.C., doula Annapolis, labor support Annapolis, labor support Silver Spring, doula Silver Spring, Holy Cross doula, Shady Grove doula, Montgomery county doula, Bethesda doula, Rockville Doula, Walter Reed doula, military doula, Baltimore Doula, johns hopkins doula, mercy hospital doula, sibley doula, GW hospital doula, GW midwives doula, VHC Doula, Washington Hospital Center doula, northwest D.C. doula, labor support D.C

When I was pregnant, my little 34As jumped in size almost immediately, so much so that I remember wearing my regular clothes and getting hit on by some guy as I was walking down the Riverwalk. I laughed it off until I caught my reflection in a window. Whoa, no wonder! Those girls were out there.

I remember with number 4, I got measured for well fitting bras in my second trimester, 38 DD/E Holy Cow! Knowing this about myself, one would think that growing breast size wouldn’t freak me out, WRONG!

My first experience with engorgement was with my first son (#2). I was so concerned about succeeded at breastfeeding. Day 3, home with my son, my milk came in with a vengeance. I was uncomfortable, so I started pumping. I would breastfeed my son and then pump for relief afterwards. I never got relief. DUH! Supply and demand, my friend. The more I pumped, the more milk I made. I couldn’t even wear a bra or a shirt. Best line ever from my husband: “Becky they don’t even look like boobs anymore!” With baby number 3, I became engorged again, but this time, I did not pump. Instead I handed expressed into a towel and cried. After a few days, the engorgement went away. With baby number 5, my milk literally came in within 12 hours post-partum. Engorged again. I used a hand pump for comfort and felt much better.

So why did I share the story of Becky’s breasts with you? For a couple of reasons:

1. It happens to the best of us!

2. What not to do when engorged.

3. What to do when engorged.

What is exactly is engorgement? It is not an oversupply of milk because it’s not just milk that is causing all this drama. During pregnancy, labor and delivery, your body and your breasts change. (Duh!) Your body is dealing with trauma – you either just pushed a baby out of you or you had major surgery! Your body fights back with increased lymph tissue and fluids.

Now add the liters of fluid you may have received from epidural, antibiotics, Pitocin, etc. That fluid must go somewhere. It goes to ankles, feet and yes, your breasts! So now, your breasts are full of fluid and your milk comes in. There just isn’t room for everything. Typical this happens around 48 hours postpartum or so. Baby cluster feeds all night, you finally get a few hours of sleep and you wake up to with brand new giant breasts!

The goal is to decrease the swelling and extraneous fluid so there is room for your milk and to create a softer breast. So how do we do this/ Nurse! Nurse! Nurse! If baby can latch let baby feed on demand. Babies are the most efficient way to remove milk. While nursing massage your breasts (or have someone help you) If you feel any knots in your breasts, work them out if you can, if baby can’t latch. (Um hello, your breasts are so big, and your baby’s mouth is so small)

Hand express to relieve pressure and soften breasts so baby can latch. Also, try reverse pressure softening. (Also called pedaling) By pushing fluid away from the nipple and the areola, infant will have more breast tissue to grasp on to. Try pumping with a manual pump for comfort. If all else fails, pump for a few minutes with an electric pump on a low setting. Pump for comfort, just to soften breasts. Treat engorgement like a sports injury. Many Moms can find relief from ibuprofen and ice for inflammation. Moist heat before feeds will help milk flow but will not help with engorgement.

If engorgement lasts more than 48 hours, baby is not latching, you notice lumps, redness, pain or have a fever, please call your primary care provider.

Breastfeeding isn’t easy in the beginning, but it gets better. You’ve got this mama!

Comments


bottom of page