googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

Mighty Mama Highlight: Meredith McCall of Fair Winds Handmade


fair winds handmade focuses on unique clothing made with intricate detail for your little ones

I couldn't be more excited to showcase the extraordinary talent of Meredith McCall, a former client and amazing military momma to two adorable girls and the owner of Fair Winds Handmade, which creates great and one of a kind clothing! Recently, Meredith commissioned a piece for Harley with the best skirt of the windowpanes in Beauty & The Beast!

Could it be any more adorable?? I sat down with Meredith to discuss her amazing business, and how to get your hands on her creations!

Fair Winds Handmade creates clothing that is fun, functional, and impeccably crafted for childhood. I want to see your children making memories in playful handmade clothing that they love, clothing they can take to school, on adventures, or wear to a tea party. Fair Winds specializes in dresses, bow ties, and baby rompers. As a military wife and mama to two young girls, I can't wait to create something special for your children!

What got you interested in creating these dresses and outfits for little ones?

I started sewing, almost as an accident, last summer. My daughter found some Minnie Mouse fabric and they were dying for sundresses! So I searched around on the internet and found a really basic sundress pattern and that’s how things got rolling. Spoiler alert- I tend to be a real perfectionist. But I was really dissatisfied on how those first dresses turned out, so I joined Facebook groups, read blogs, and kept sewing and sewing! As I started to improve, I loved trying new styles and having my daughters help me design their own dresses! Now that my business is growing, I also love seeing so many amazing little ones in my creations!

What is your favorite design style to create?

My all time favorite style is the June dress! This pattern has a big twirly skirt, two pockets- perfect for collecting flowers and rocks, and is endlessly customizable. It was one of the very first patterns I used, and I created my oldest daughter's dress for her very first day of school. Since then, I have made it more times than I can count and every time it is unique and beautiful! I can add a maxi skirt bottom, cap sleeves, flutter sleeves, or a sash just to name a few options. The June pattern really helped me find my creative voice and she'll always be one of my favorites!

Where do you draw your inspiration?

I draw inspiration from everywhere! My main inspiration for a dress would be the child who is going to wear it. They love pink, Star Wars, and pockets? You got it! It's really fun to take everything that someone wants in one dress and try to piece it to fit together- it pushes and challenges me. I can also be found wandering through fabric stores for inspiration whenever I have a spare (child free) moment!

What’s the most fun thing about being a work from home Mom? The most difficult?

I really enjoy being a work from home mom! I love that my girls get to see me working on things that I am truly passionate about and love to do. They are usually sitting on the floor near me "sewing" with their fabric while I work. They love asking questions about how sewing machine works, asking who each item is for, and they are the best fabric shopping buddies! The most difficult part can come when I have a long list of projects to get done. There are days when the last thing I want to do is step away from my husband and kids to work. At first, I would feel a lot of guilt taking a Saturday afternoon to sew or do any work, but I quickly realized that my girls loved knowing that I was working. And they also love having a special time with just daddy!

You’re a military spouse, how does that influence or show highlights in your connection to others in the community?

The military spouse community to so amazing, supportive and talented. The reason my business has grown the way it has is largely because of the military spouse community. Countless of my dresses are worn by military children. I have made dresses and bowties for a daddy's homecoming. My dresses have been captured by amazing friends and photographers that are military spouses. My dresses have been sold at Navy base Submarine Dolphin Stores to benefit scholarships for military children. I think that because I am a military spouse, a little of that gets stitched into every dress, no matter who it’s going to. You're supporting a military spouse, which supports the whole community.

How does owning a small business help your family?

Owning a small business has been great for my family! The main benefit isn’t purely financial- I think it’s having a sane mama! Me having time to create, either for my children or someone else’s, gives me some mental space. I am a person who really needs quiet and space to recharge myself. While I’m working, I pop on some headphones and listen to podcasts or music and get to work! That energizes my mama battery and I can head back into parenting on a more even keel.

When/where did you learn to create and sew?

I actually taught myself to sew (thanks YouTube!) last summer. My mother in law gifted me a sewing machine for my bridal shower. I was very skeptical of it at first (ha!), but used it occasionally once my husband and I were married- I hemmed curtains, fixed a pillow case- usually just sewing straight lines. Then I started experimenting with making clothing just last summer. Every time I sew, I try to learn a new method or technique to add something special to a piece. That’s one thing I love about this creative field- I will always be evolving and learning as my business grows.

Where do your source your fabrics and patterns from?

There are so many great resources for patterns and fabric. I began simply at local fabric stores like Joann Fabric. I found a pattern in Joann Fabric that I thought was amazing, but I wasn’t sure I was ready for it yet. A few weeks later I Googled that company and really fell down that wormhole of all of the online pattern companies! Facebook groups for sewing or specific companies have also been a source of information on new patterns or fabric distributors I wasn’t familiar with. I wasn’t aware how much gorgeous, high quality fabric that is available from places other than Hobby Lobby or Joann Fabrics! Discovering a local, high quality fabric store here in Washington has really expanded my horizon for textiles, and I really try to source materials from local companies.

If you'd like to collaborate with Meredith to make a one of a kind creation for your little one, reach out to her on her Facebook page. Your kiddo will cherish the creation she puts intricate detail into for years to come!

Comments


bottom of page