googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

Fit4Baby: I Attended a Class and THIS is What Happened…


fit4mom pregnancy work out among other women keeping fit during their pregnancy

Listen, folks. I’m about to get real.

This pregnant body is close to being done. And I have not exercised once since finding out I was pregnant with this third baby (cue dramatic gasps).

Needless to say, I’m not exactly practicing what I preach as a childbirth educator, doula, or maternity concierge.

So when the wonderful family at Fit4Mom Severn asked me to join them for a Fit4Baby class, I was more than a little apprehensive of how my body would adjust to the sudden ‘burst’ of physical activity. Would I be able to keep up with the class? Would it be rigorous, or gentle on me? What if I was the ONLY one there who couldn’t stretch and bend?

If you’re new to the philosophy of Fit4Mom, let me explain. It’s pretty wonderful; a community of support for newly postpartum and busy mothers trying to keep accountable to not only improve their physical fitness, but also find a fellowship of others in the same boat. The program offers a multitude of amazing classes, some which include babies and children, like their wildly popular Stroller Strides and Stroller Barre classes, and some with the goal of regaining strength and tone postpartum. Body Back, which includes an 8 week, intense training schedule made stronger with a team of partners, also offers a nutrition guide that gently includes the health of a nursing and specialty diet for after baby.

For pregnancy, it can be HARD to include workouts into routines. That’s probably the number one reason why I don’t work out when I’m pregnant! It’s so difficult to find the time, I’m tired at the end of the day from chasing my two boys, and the gradual decline in mobility has convinced me that I’m just stuck until after delivery.

I was eager to meet other pregnant exercisers, and to engage in some activity, even if it was just a little more intense than the walk to the park I usually do. I met the instructor, Melissa, at the door of the facility. I explained to her that I was pretty nervous, and her confidence in my ability to keep up with class, as well as to include all the participants in dialogue about our health, bodies and babies prior to class beginning was a great confidence booster!

Class meets on a racquetball court; nice and private, away from peering eyes. Each participant had a mat and an exercise hand ball to use. After our introductions to the group (I met two wonderful, strong pregnant women!) we were led easily by Melissa into a great warm up that only convinced me that I could get my heart rate up without killing myself. Melissa included music, an easy flow and transition between movements, and explanations of how the specific movements were targeting our prenatal bodies, which I appreciated!

Next up, 12 interval training cards. Each one had two workouts; Melissa demonstrated both, as well as modifications (yay!) for different stages of pregnancy, then we flipped a coin to determine which we’d perform. That made it fun and varied the pace; after choosing, we worked a minute on, then took a short break for the next card. After completing all 12, which cycled between cardio, core, upper and lower body training, we went quickly through the 12 again with less time in between.

This part, I have to admit, was closer to HIIT (high intensity interval training) than I had expected. I know the format of the class isn’t always like this, but for someone who likes to push themselves, I loved it. What I really enjoyed was the variance of activities, the constant change, which kept it interesting, and also that I could go at my own pace. All of our different fitness levels were managed through this routine, and it was fun!

After the training cards, Melissa led us in a great stretch/cool down, complete with a mindful meditation that honestly connected me to my confidence in my baby and body. I haven’t had much time (shocker, considering birth and babies are my business!) to connect with this growing baby, and I was grateful for that quiet time at the end of class.

The best part of Fit4Baby was how I felt physically upon leaving class; I was stretched fully, and felt an increase in my energy that I haven’t been able to achieve with sleep alone. I have noticed the difference simply from that one class for a few days and will definitely notice if I don’t return. I was pretty instantly hooked; I am one that needs to go escape to work out, and having a group of women excited to work on the level of fitness we’re in together during pregnancy makes me feel accountable.

If you’re looking for a great workout prior to baby, don’t hesitate to try a Fit4Baby class! I am looking forward to continuing my work outs, and to trying some of their other classes and playgroup activities once baby arrives! Fit4Mom Severn lists their class schedules, group rates and memberships on their local site; I encourage all Maryland Moms to check out a location near you! You’ll work up a sweat, and continue to feel great long after the class is over.

Comments


bottom of page