googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

Rough Day? Yes. Done Having Babies? No.


being overwhelmed by the current season of parenting isn't a reason to throw in the towel on more children

Some days are glorious. They make me want to keep going forever!

"I am the Pinterest Mom of the year!"

"Yes! Get out that paint!"

"Water play? Go for it!"

Others?

"DInner will absolutely be take out or carry in. Whatever is fastest and requires me to move my fingers and muscles from the nursing, cranky baby the least."

A good, encouraging talk with the kids will be one that doesn’t use 4 or more curse words, out loud or muttered.

Waiting for my husband to walk in the door to commiserate will become a feat of utter proportions.

Sometimes the days are long!! They seem to go on forever, and with great effort.

Venting and co-parenting? You bet!

What don’t I want that venting to turn into, though?

An assumption that me saying that it was a hard day/month/phase means that I’m absolutely done having kids.

That somehow, the struggle of the day is a reflection on my ability to parent more than the current brood.

I may have it all together some days, and others I don’t. But the sheer number or size of my kiddos doesn’t have anything to do with it (well, some days I’m totally and completely outnumbered, it’s true).

The hard is hard. The highs are high. The lows are low.

And I don’t make my family size decisions on a bad day - or even a good one. I make it as it organically comes about, when we look at where we are and try to determine how it feels to keep going as is, or to add on.

But certainly, never on the ratio of pizza to pot roast.

Comments


bottom of page