googlea00eba386ded00e5.html
top of page

The Birth...Of A Doula


abigail coale labor doula

When I was a toddler, my mom would walk into the living room to find me watching A Baby Story on TLC, mesmerized. She thought it was the drama I loved (and listen, I can’t say that’s entirely inaccurate), but looking back now I often wonder if that’s where my fascination with birth began.

When I was eighteen, my best friend’s mom was pregnant with her sixth child. I had started dabbling in film, and she was convinced that I would be filming her birth. “Yeah, right!” I laughed at the thought. But the further along she got, the more I realized what a cool opportunity it would be. That day came, and I stood at her shoulders and gasped “oh my god,” as her baby was born and placed on her chest. It was wild, and electric, and inspiring, and I knew this was something really special.

I was never sure how to tell people that this was my passion - I was fascinated by birth, women, pregnancy, infertility, family dynamics, and everything in between. Even though I’d nannied for years, I always felt... a little weird, childless, still in my teens, knowing that this is what I wanted to do. It was then that I received the best piece of advice I’ve ever heard, and still quote regularly to this day. I was lamenting to a friend about these feelings, and she told me, “Never apologize for what you are passionate about.”

Though I tried, it was hard for me to dive into birth videography because I wasn’t able to free up my schedule enough to be on call. After a couple years of feeling strange about my passion and not quite knowing where it was leading me, I must have stumbled upon the term “doula.” I had watched all the documentaries, and read all the articles, and swooned over all the mommy blogs. I had started to think about becoming a doula, but felt it would be the end game for me several years into the future.

I decided to pursue a massage therapy license instead, with the doula dream in the distance. And as the universe would have it, as I was getting certified in prenatal massage, Heather Delaney of Maryland State Doulas appeared. I wasn’t sure the timing was right, but she saw something in me and pursued me. I quickly transitioned into this dream job with such great role models and mentors.

I’ve always been an incredibly empathetic and vulnerable person. I am open, and unapologetically myself, and have always cherished connecting deeply with people. I put value in myself, as well as empowering women and families, and I just LOVE birth. These nurturing traits have led me to this incredibly rewarding career, and I still have to pinch myself to make sure it’s all real!

I am twenty-two, I am passionate about pregnancy, birth, and postpartum, I am a doula, and I certainly won’t be apologizing for it.

If you'd love to discuss having Abigail's steadfast support through your labor journey, reach out to us. We'd love to connect you for a passionate conversation about your options!

If you'd like to disuss your

Comments


bottom of page